Michael Ballack Home Page
Add Ballack to your favorites
Subscribe to Ballack's Feed



Hamburg breaks Bayern streak

Share |

Michael Ballack returned to play for Bayern, but he couldn't help Hamburg ending Bayern Munich's record 15-match winning streak in the Bundesliga with a 2-0 home win on Saturday.

Hamburg closed to within one point of Bayern and stretched its unbeaten streak to 17 matches with a defence that has conceded four goals in seven games this season. Ballack's team didn't have a single clear chance in front of 56,000 fans at AOL Arena.

''It was not our day, not our match and somehow we were due for a loss,'' Kahn said. ''Now the weight of the winning streak is off our shoulders.''

Raphael van der Vaart opened the scoring in the 10th minute with a low shot past diving goalkeeper Oliver Kahn. Former Bayern player Piotr Trochowski added the second in the 62nd.

The champion was stunned by the Dutch international's early score, which came when a deflected pass went to Hamburg while Bayern's defenders were moving out.

The goal sparked off singing and dancing among home supporters that lasted the entire game.

Michael Ballack returned for Bayern after three matches out injured, but it was the Hamburg midfield that controlled play.

''I think we came into the match very confident and played that way - after all we have an impressive streak of our own,'' Hamburg coach Thomas Doll said.

Hamburg's fans will get to celebrate properly. A German brewery promised 10,000 litres of beer to the team that first beat Bayern this year.

Van der Vaart is one of several newcomers who have boosted Hamburg as the team seeks its first Bundesliga title since 1983.

''Hamburger SV will certainly play for the title - but they won't beat us,'' Bayern coach Felix Magath said.

Bayern's loss came after widespread fears in Germany the club would run away with the title for the second straight year.

Bayern has 18 points from seven rounds, Hamburg has 17, and Bremen is on 16 after its 2-1 win against Leverkusen.

In other matches, it was: Duisburg 1, Nuremberg 0; Schalke 2, Hannover 96 0; VfL Wolfsburg 1, Frankfurt 0; Mainz 05 1, Dortmund 1; and Bielefeld 0, Moenchengladbach 2.